When I first started online, I had one goal: to earn $1,000/month. That’s it. Why that amount? Because I HATED my 9-to-5 job. And I wanted out.
Unfortunately, I had no way to do this…that is, until I found affiliate marketing. Now I’ll admit: $1,000 isn’t that much money (it’s only about $33/day).
It's not enough to replace most people's salaries. But back then, I didn't care. My goal wasn't to be rich. I simply wanted more control over my time.
After countless hours of trial and error, I reached my goal of $1,000 per month online. It took me exactly 11 months to accomplish.
And guess what? It was the best feeling in the world. Now my goal is to help YOU accomplish the same thing. Are you ready? Then let's get started!
Step #1: Set Actionable Goals
First, you need to come up with a daily goal. In this case, it's $33/day.
Next, you must figure out the number of sales needed to reach your daily goal.
Let's say an affiliate program pays $11 per sale (many pay more, this is just an example).
At $11 per sale, you need 3 sales/day to reach your daily goal. Next, calculate how much traffic is needed to reach those sales.
With a 1% conversion rate (meaning 1 out of 100 people make a purchase), you need about 300 visitors/day.
This gives us the following:
- Daily Goal: $33/Day
- # of Sales Needed Per Day: 3
- Minimum Commission Required: $11
- Daily Traffic Needed: 300 Visitors
- Minimum Conversion Rate: 1%
- Total Monthly Income: $1,000
Breaking down goals into actionable steps makes them easier to achieve. Now you know exactly what's needed to earn $1,000 per month online.
Note: When I say "conversion rate", I'm referring to the # of visitors who become buyers. I'm NOT referring to the # of clicks that turn into sales. Therefore, a 1% conversion rate means that 1 out of every 100 visitors make a purchase.
Step #2: Join an Affiliate Program That Pays $11/Sale
The next step is to find an affiliate program that pays a minimum of $11 per sale.
Fortunately, there are many out there. Here are some great places to start looking:
For the sake of this example, let's choose ClickBank. Here's a product in the ClickBank marketplace that perfectly matches your needs:
If you promoted this product, you would need to refer 3 sales a day to reach $1,000 per month.
To do this, you would first need to build a website. Then you would need to drive 300 visitors/day to it.
Note: In this article, I WON'T show you how to build a website. There are thousands of articles and videos online for that. I simply want to focus on the marketing aspect of things.
Profit Hero Founder
Once you've joined an affiliate program and/or chosen a product to promote, it's time for step #3.
Step #3: Drive 300 Visitors/Day to Your Website
With a 1% conversion rate, you need about 300 visitors/day to reach your income goals. The good news is that this is perfectly doable.
300 visitors a day is only 12.5 visitors per hour. That's not much at all!
Even with minimal experience, you should be able to reach this goal. There are 3 types of traffic you can acquire:
- Organic: Traffic that comes from Google and other search engines.
- Social: Traffic that comes from social media sites like Facebook, Twitter, and others.
- Paid: Paid traffic, as its name implies, is any traffic that you pay for.
In affiliate marketing, organic traffic is the golden standard of traffic. That's what you should aim for.
Social traffic is good too, but the primary goal is to drive organic visitors to your website.
Why organic traffic?
Because you'll get more qualified visitors, and thus, more sales. It's also free and passive. Let's look at the example product again:
The product is called The Osiris Method - Ultimate Starcraft 2 Strategy Guide.
Now, I don't know anything about this game. In fact, I've never heard of it before.
But that doesn't matter.
My goal should be to rank for the keyword "Starcraft 2 strategy guide" (or something similar). If I can do this, there's a very good chance I'll make money.
Remember: This is only an example. In reality, I probably wouldn't promote this product. The monthly search volume is too low in my opinion. For now, ignore the logistics. Just focus on the big picture.
Profit Hero Founder
After making a list of profitable keywords, build a website based on those keywords.
I recommend 10-30 pages of content that focuses on adding value and helping people.
This will help you become a trusted authority figure within your niche.
What if your conversion rate is less than 1%? Like say, 0.5%? In that case, you would need DOUBLE your traffic to get the same # of sales.
For example, let's say your conversion rate drops from 1% to 0.5%. At the same time, traffic increases from 300 to 600 visitors per day.
In this case, the number of sales is still 3.
Playing With The Numbers
There's no rule saying you must achieve 3 sales/day to reach $1,000 per month online.
In fact, there's no "hard rules" at all. I'm simply showing you how I think. You can adjust the numbers however you'd like:
- 6 Sales at $5.50
- 12 Sales at 2.75
- 24 Sales at $1.37
- 1 Sale at $33
You get the picture. Personally, I think it's easier to get 1 sale for $33 each day instead of 12 sales for $2.75.
Think about it: Is it easier to get 1 person to pull out their wallet? Or 12? That's what I thought.